The 2009 “F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry” Winner

We are pleased to announce that Professor Kenneth D. Karlin has been selected to receive the American Chemical Society’s 2009 F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry. Established in 2002, the award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves by demonstrating creativity, imagination and outstanding synthetic accomplishments in the field of inorganic chemistry. The Cotton Award is funded by the F. Albert Cotton Endowment Fund, supported by the late F. Albert Cotton, one of the world’s foremost inorganic chemists. Karlin is the sixth recipient of the award.

We are also pleased to announce Professor Karlin’s selection as the 2009 recipient of the Sierra Nevada Distinguished Chemist Award. Since 1993, the Sierra Nevada section of the American Chemical Society has presented this award biennially. Previous awardees include researchers from a variety of chemical disciplines who are elected members of the National Academy of Science (NAS), prominent professors from Cal Tech, Harvard, UC Berkeley and Stanford Universities.

For the news released by Chemical & Engineering News, please click here

For more information about F. A. Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry, please click here

For more information about F. A. Cotton, please click here

For previous awardees of F. A. Cotton Award: please click here

For information about Sierra Nevada Distinguished Chemist Award, please click here