Kenneth D. Karlin

Professor of Chemistry
Ira Remsen Chair in Chemistry
Inorganic/Bioinorganic Chemistry
Member, Program in Molecular Biophysics
Member, JHU Environmental Molecular Science Program


Biography :

Kenneth D. Karlin is the Ira Remsen Professor of Chemistry and the previous department Chair at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland, USA. Educated at Stanford University (B.S. 1970) and at Columbia University, New York (Ph.D. 1975), he was a N.A.T.O. postdoctoral fellow at Cambridge University in England before being appointed Assistant Professor of Chemistry at SUNY Albany (Albany, New York, USA) in 1977. He moved to the Johns Hopkins University as professor in 1990. Dr. Karlin is Editor-in-Chief for Progress in Inorganic Chemistry (John Wiley & Sons) and holds or has held advisory or administrative positions with the Society for Biological Inorganic Chemistry (SBIC), the Petroleum Research Fund (PRF) (of the American Chemical Society (ACS)) and the Division of Inorganic Chemistry (DIC) of the ACS, most recently as 2013 DIC Chair (elected). He is also a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and winner of a 2009 ACS National Award, the F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry. He has been organizer/chair of a number of international meetings on copper and/or bioinorganic chemistry, the 1998 Metals in Biology Gordon Research Conference and the 1989 International Conference on Bioinorganic Chemistry (ICBIC-4). Dr. Karlin’s bioinorganic research focuses on coordination chemistry relevant to biological and environmental processes, involving copper and/or heme (porphyrin-iron) complexes and their chemistry with molecular oxygen, its reduced derivatives, and nitrogen oxide compounds.

Mail Address:

NCB 213, Department of Chemistry
Johns Hopkins University
Remsen Hall/ 3400 North CharlesStreet
Baltimore, MD 21218-2685


(410) 516-8027(office)
(410) 516-8144, x6-7937, x6-7468, x6-6161, x6-6557(labs)
(410) 516-8420 (fax)