Dr. John P. Toscano, Professor

Picture of John P. ToscanoNew Chemistry 115

Dr. Toscano received his baccalaureate degree from Princeton University in 1987 where he graduated magna cum laude in chemistry and his PhD in organic chemistry from Yale University in 1993. Upon completion of a National Institutes of Health postdoctoral fellowship in organic chemistry at Ohio State University, he joined the Johns Hopkins University Department of Chemistry as an Assistant Professor in 1995. He became a full Professor in 2003, Vice-Chair of the department in 2004 and served as Department Chair from 2005 to 2011 and again from 2013 to 2014. He has served as Vice Dean for Natural Sciences since 2014.

Dr. Toscano was an AT&T Bell Laboratories Ph.D. Scholar and received the Richard Wolfgang Memorial Prize for distinguished graduate work in chemistry. Since his appointment at Johns Hopkins, he has received the Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Award, a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award, the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, and an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship.

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Vinayak Khodade

Ph.D. Indian Institute of Science Education & Research (IISER) – Pune (Dr. Harinath Chakrapani)

Graduate Students

Blaze Pharoah

PhD Candidate (Chemistry-Biology Interface Program)

B.S. (Chemistry) – State University of New York – Geneseo

Sahil Aggarwal

PhD Candidate

B.S. (Chemistry) – Hofstra University

Jessica Zarenkiewicz

PhD Candidate

B.S. (Biochemistry) – Duquesne University

Kelsey Zhang

1st year Graduate Student

Deborah Rodriguez

1st year Graduate Student

Undergraduate Students

Sarah Porche – Expected Class of 2022

Ava Neijna – Expected Class of 2023




Former PhD Graduate Students


Saghar Nourian (2017)

Christoper Bianco (2017)

Tyler Chavez (2016)

Daryl Guthrie (2014)

Gizem Keceli(2014)

Meredith Cline (2012)

Art Sutton (2012)

Anthony Evans (2010)

Yonglin Liu (2006)

Andrew Cohen (2006)

Christopher Pavlos (2006)

Hua Xu (2005)

Walter Wasylenko (2004)

Brett Showalter (2002)

Yuhong Wang (2002)

Recent Undergraduate Students


Alexander Eremiev (2021)

Eric Bao (2021)

Emily Presseller (2018)

Zachary Zilber (2017)

Robert Lesko (2017)

Alexander Kossak (2017)

Lucas Axiotakis (2016)

Anna Kataki-Anastasakou (2015)

Cyrus Takahashi (2014)

Anthony Collins (2013)

Anthony Ho (2013)

Iris Trutzer (2013)

Matthew Morris (2012)

Nam Kim (2011)

Adiya Katseff (2011)

Whitney Grither (2009)