

Shared Governance Council of the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences By-Laws

Effective November 18, 2024

Article I: Name

The "Shared Governance Council" shall be the official name of this committee.

Article II: Purpose

The Shared Governance Council (SGC) is an advisory body whose purpose is to bring faculty, staff, administration and students together for the development and review of policies and issues that affect the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences as a whole.

Article III: Membership

The Shared Governance Council shall consist of 20 voting members as well as up to 8 non-voting members. The members of the SGC shall be apportioned as follows:

Voting members:

- a. The Dean of KSAS (1) is an ex officio voting member and Chair of the SGC.
- b. Three (3) chairs from KSAS departments, one each from the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences, each designated by the Dean.
- c. Twelve (12) representatives from the Faculty Senate, four each from the Humanities, Social Sciences and Natural Sciences.
- d. One (1) full-time undergraduate student in KSAS as elected by the Johns Hopkins Student Government Association.
- e. One (1) full-time doctoral student in KSAS as elected by the Graduate Representative Organization.
- f. Two (2) full-time staff in KSAS as selected by the KSAS Staff Council.

Non-voting members

The Executive Vice Dean, the Vice Dean for Humanities, the Vice Dean for Social Sciences, the Vice Dean for Graduate Education and Centers and programs, the Vice Dean for Natural Sciences, and the Vice Dean for Undergraduate Education

will each be *ex officio*, non-voting members. In addition, the Dean of KSAS may appoint up to two additional members of the Dean's Office staff (whether faculty or academic-administrative personnel) to serve as *ex officio* non-voting members of the SGC. Such non-voting members serve on an annual basis.

Term:

Faculty Senate and staff members of the SGC shall normally serve three-year terms. To ensure staggered terms, members of the SGC drawn from the Faculty Senate shall also be governed by the procedures for staggered terms and one-semester and one-year membership nominations as specified in the Charter for the Faculty Senate for the School of Arts and Sciences, Appendix B.

The chairs of KSAS departments appointed by the Dean as well as the undergraduate and graduate student members of the SGC shall serve one year terms.

No faculty, staff, or student member shall serve more than two consecutive terms.

Article IV: Meetings

The SGC will meet at least three times per semester at dates to be determined by the Council and may not be suspended. Additional meetings can be scheduled as needed.

Special meetings of the SGC may be held at any time if called by the Dean, the Chair of the Faculty Senate and the Vice-Chair of the Senate or three (3) other members of the SGC. Written notice stating the place, date and time of any special meeting of the SGC shall be delivered personally, or electronically to each member of the SGC within 24 hours for discussion of item(s). Members will be given 48-hours notice for meetings requiring action item(s).

A quorum for meetings of the SGC shall consist of two-thirds of its voting members. There shall be no votes by proxy. A simple majority of all members present and voting shall be required to adopt all motions.

Article V: Officers

The officers of this Council shall be the Dean of KSAS, who acts as Chair, the Chair of the Faculty Senate and the Vice-Chair of the Senate.

The Dean of KSAS will set the agenda for meetings in consultation with the Steering Committee consisting of one Vice Dean, as designed by the Dean; the Chair of the Faculty Senate, Vice-Chair of the Faculty Senate, and the Secretary of the Faculty Senate. The Chair of the Faculty Senate will fill the role of the Chair of this Council when the Dean of KSAS is absent. The Academic Coordinator for the SGC shall be responsible for the preparation of fair and accurate minutes of each meeting. Minutes shall be subject to approval by the full SGC at the next meeting. Copies of the approved minutes shall be maintained in the Office of the Dean and posted electronically on the KSAS website.

Article VI: Committees

The Council may create standing committees to address ongoing matters and ad hoc committees to address unique issues as needed. The latter shall be limited in term and shall disband upon completion of their assigned task(s).

The subcommittees will ordinarily be chaired by at least one member of the Dean's Office. Each subcommittee will include at least one Faculty Senator selected by the Senate. Membership can include members of the Shared Governance Council and the community at large, as determined by the chair(s) of the subcommittee in consultation with the other members of the subcommittee. The Senate chair will be kept informed of SGC committee memberships so as to be mindful of workload and representation. In June the members of the subcommittee will be surveyed to determine their willingness to continue to work with the subcommittee. The composition of the subcommittees will ordinarily be finalized before the first meeting of the Shared Governance Council in September.

Article VII: Amendment of the By-laws

The Bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds vote at a regular or special meeting. Proposed amendments must be circulated in writing at least one week in advance of such a meeting.