Current Team

  • Senior Scientists

  • John Appel

    • jappel3@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Associate Research Scientist — Development, integration and deployment of CLASS detector arrays
  • Charles Bennett

    • cbennett@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Faculty — Co-Principal Investigator
  • Ricardo Bustos

    • rbustos@ucsc.cl
    • Universidad Católica de la Santísima Concepción
    • Research Interests: Faculty — CLASS project operations and engineering support
  • David Chuss

    • david.chuss@villanova.edu
    • Villanova University
    • Research Interests: Faculty — Modulator and detector development; Constructing the large grids for the modulators; Developing free-space cryogenic calibrators for validating the detectors
  • Martin DeGeorge

  • Kevin Denis

    • kevin.l.denis@nasa.gov
    • Goddard Space Flight Center
    • Research Interests: Tenured Scientist — Detector fabrication lead
  • Rolando Dünner Planella

  • Joseph Eimer

    • jeimer1@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Associate Research Scientist — Instrumentation and analysis
  • Tom Essinger-Hileman

    • thomas.m.essinger-hileman@nasa.gov
    • Goddard Space Flight Center
    • Research Interests: Tenured Scientist — Detector and focal plane array development; Polarization calibrator design; Receiver design and construction; Filter development
  • Mark Halpern

  • Gene Hilton

    • gene.hilton@nist.gov
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology
    • Research Interests: Tenured Scientist — SQUID multiplexing hardware fabrication
  • Gary Hinshaw

  • Johannes (Hannes) Hubmayr

    Johannes (Hannes) Hubmayr

    • hubmayr@nist.gov
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology
    • Research Interests: Faculty — Providing SQUID multiplexing hardware
  • Tobias Marriage

    • marriage@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Faculty — Co-Principal Investigator
  • Jeffrey McMahon

    • jeffmcm@umich.edu
    • University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
    • Research Interests: Faculty — Silicon lenses
  • Nathan Miller

  • Samuel Harvey Moseley

  • Gonzalo Palma

  • Rodrigo Reeves

    • rreeves@astro-udec.cl
    • Universidad de Concepción
    • Research Interests: Faculty — Project operations and engineering support
  • Carl Reintsema

    • carl.reintsema@nist.gov
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology
    • Research Interests: Tenured Scientist — SQUID multiplexing hardware
  • Karwan Rostem

    • karwan.rostem@nasa.gov
    • University of Maryland, Baltimore County
    • Research Interests: Research Scientist — Detector design and testing
  • Janet Weiland

    • jweilan2@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Research Scientist — Analysis
  • Edward Wollack

    • edward.j.wollack@nasa.gov
    • Goddard Space Flight Center
    • Research Interests: Tenured Scientist — Detector design and testing lead
  • Lingzhen Zeng

    • lingzhen@cfa.harvard.edu
    • Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
    • Research Interests: Research Scientist — Smooth-walled horn design
  • Engineers & Staff

  • Mandana Amiri

    • mandana@physics.ubc.ca
    • University of British Columbia
    • Research Interests: Research Scientist — Multichannel electronics
  • Deniz Augusto Nunes Valle

    Deniz Augusto Nunes Valle

  • Michael Brewer

    Michael Brewer

    • mkbrewer@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Engineer — Telescope software and pointing
  • Meng-ping Chang

  • Nicholas Costen

    Nicholas Costen

  • Ron Hu

    Ron Hu

    • Goddard Space Flight Center
    • Research Interests: Engineer — Detector fabrication
  • John Karakla

    John Karakla

    • jpjk@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Engineer — Telescope mount design and fabrication; Site construction and logistics
  • Gary Rhoades

    Gary Rhoades

  • Kongpop U-Yen

  • Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Aamir Ali

    • aali18@jhu.edu
    • University of California, Berkeley
    • Research Interests: Postdoctoral Scholar — Detectors; Magnetic shielding
  • Jullianna Denes Couto

    Jullianna Denes Couto

    • jdenesc1@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Postdoctoral Researcher — Field operations
  • Katie Harrington

    Katie Harrington

    • kharrington@jhu.edu
    • University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
    • Research Interests: Postdoctoral Researcher — Designed and built the first 2 VPMs; Developed machining procedures for the cryogenic plastic optics; Analysis work relating to the VPM and demodulation
  • Kyle Helson

    • kyle.helson@nasa.gov
    • Goddard Space Flight Center
    • Research Interests: Postdoctoral Fellow — Detector testing
  • Ivan Padilla

    Ivan Padilla

    • padilla@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Postdoctoral Researcher — Telescope structure and alignment; Data analysis
  • Lucas Parker

    Lucas Parker

    • lparke28@jhu.edu
    • Los Alamos National Laboratory
    • Research Interests: Postdoctoral Researcher — Cryogenics; Data analysis
  • Duncan Watts

    Duncan Watts

    • dwatts13@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Postdoctoral Researcher — Data analysis
  • Zhilei Xu

    • zxu17@jhu.edu
    • University of Pennsylvania
    • Research Interests: Postdoctoral Scholar — Instrument development (cold optics and the mount system); Data analysis effort to calibrate the instrument
  • Graduate Students

  • Joseph Cleary

    Joseph Cleary

    • jcleary3@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Graduate — Assembling and characterizing the W2 and HF VPMs, as well as understanding their performance in the field; Manufacturing the AR-coated vacuum windows
  • Sumit Dahal

    Sumit Dahal

    • sumit.dahal@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Graduate — Detector characterization and focal plane assembly; Manufacturing lenses and filters
  • Pedro Fluxá

    Pedro Fluxá

    • pafluxa@uc.cl
    • Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
    • Research Interests: Graduate — Cryogenics; Field work; Analysis
  • Jeffrey Iuliano

    Jeffrey Iuliano

    • jiulian1@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Graduate — Cryogenic receiver lead
  • Carolina Núñez

    Carolina Núñez

    • cnunez4@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Graduate — Part of the CLASS detector team; Assembly and characterization of the 90 GHz and 150/220 GHz telescopes
  • Matthew Petroff

    • petroff@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Graduate — Jack of all trades
  • Bastián Pradenas Marquez

    Bastián Pradenas Marquez

  • Bingjie Wang

    • bwang@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Graduate — Likelihood analysis
  • Zi’ang Yan

    Zi’ang Yan

    • yanza15@phas.ubc.ca
    • University of British Columbia
    • Research Interests: Graduate — Analysis of CLASS sky maps; Cross-analysis between CLASS data and other CMB polarization observations like WMAP and Planck
  • Undergraduate Students

  • Leah Berman

    • Villanova University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate
  • David Carcamo

    David Carcamo

    • dcarcam2@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Database and data analysis; telescope closeouts
  • Saianeesh Haridas

    Saianeesh Haridas

    • sharida2@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Telescope construction and optical alignment
  • Francisco Raul Espinoza Inostroza

    Francisco Raul Espinoza Inostroza

    • fespinoza@ing.ucsc.cl
    • Universidad Católica de la Santísima Concepción
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Engineering support
  • Riley McCarten

    • Villanova University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate
  • Vincent Mutolo

    Vincent Mutolo

    • Villanova University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate
  • Tina Nguyen

    Tina Nguyen

    • tnguy176@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Cryogenics
  • Andre Nottingham

    Andre Nottingham

    • anottin2@jhu.edu
    • Morgan State University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Telescope construction and optical alignment
  • Sasha Novack

    Sasha Novack

    • snovack1@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Variable-delay Polarization Modulator (VPM); Cryo windows; Fourier transform spectrometer
  • Diva Parekh

    • dparekh2@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Outreach, website development and social media; Data analysis
  • John (Graham) Reynolds

    John (Graham) Reynolds

    • jreyno37@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Cryogenics and telescope mount
  • Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz

    • dswartz4@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Database framework using Python and SQLAlchemy
  • Caroline Thomas

    Caroline Thomas

    • cthom125@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Telescope construction and optical alignment
  • Devon Williams

    Devon Williams

    • dwill237@jhu.edu
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Research Interests: Undergraduate — Cryogenics and detectors; Mount construction
  • Sorry, No Results Found

    Try changing your search terms